Track and Quotes

Show Shipment Information - Track and Trace PackageTrack and Trace
Get a Shipping Rate QuoteRate Quote

Senate confirms Hersman as new chairman of the NTSB
Monday, 27 July 2009 00:00

WASHINGTON—The Senate on Friday confirmed the nomination of Deborah A.P. Hersman as chairman of the National Transportation Safety Board.

Senators also confirmed Hersman to be a member of the board for a term expiring Dec. 31, 2013.

The confirmation drew commendation from the president of the Transportation Trades Department, AFLCIO.

“Transportation unions are pleased the Senate has confirmed Deborah Hersman to lead the National Transportation Safety Board,” Edward Wytkind said in a prepared statement. “Hersman is deeply committed to the safety mission of this agency and has demonstrated her passion to learn from accident investigations and advocate federal safety policies that make the U.S. transportation system safer. And rather than simply assigning blame to individuals, she investigates the policies, procedures and practices that threaten safe operations.

“Ms. Hersman has always understood that well trained front-line workers play a critical role in moving goods and people safely across our vast transportation network. We applaud Hersman’s confirmation and look forward to working with her to advance transportation safety.”

President Barack Obama nominated to become chairman of the NTSB in early June.

She was first appointed to the board in June 2004 by then President George W. Bush.

The board has no power to force the federal agencies charged with transportation safety to adopt its recommendations, but the NTSB Federal Most Wanted List is often cited during Congressional budgeting and oversight hearings of the “modal agencies” such as the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the Federal Railroad Administration and the Federal Aviation Administration., 7/27/2009